Happy May! I figured it's about time for another update, being that it's been a while :) So my tulips are about to burst, and I am so very excited to have that splash of color to send me off and welcome me home every day. Just something about tulips makes me smile. Probably the fact that it's spring-time and the sun is starting to shine, and life is all-around more colorful than it's been in a long time. But the tips of the buds are just starting to reveal this year's colors (I plant a random mix every fall - which is always beautiful). I love the pinks and purples and yellows. I'll post pictures once they've popped!
Yesterday afternoon we had an open house, so we spent a few hours at my parents'. Eric and I were so excited to enjoy the weather; we threw a football, jumped on the tramp, said hello to the neighbors' horse (which welcomed us by trying to bite off my boob!), and just hung out outdoors. I just love my parents' yard, it goes on forever... when we got home to our little corner of the cul-de-sac, it looked so much smaller than usual!
We had two couples come through that both loved the house. We'll see if it brings any offers... otherwise we have another open house in a couple of weeks. We're starting to get really anxious about selling, because we've gotten to the point of being so excited to move! A house we had our eye on dropped its price by $20,000 so we called about getting a showing... turns out, there are renters in there that had planned to rent to own. Their funding fell through, so now they're not allowing the home-owner to do any showings while they're still in it. So the homeowner started the eviction process, which means that everything is on hold for 30 days. Because we haven't sold our house yet, this buys us some time... so we're praying that our house will sell soon so that we can potentially make an offer once we can finally go see that one! (There were several others that had requested showings after that price drop...) Luckily, though, there are two houses in that same neighborhood that are very similar, and we've been eyeing both online. I guess we'll just see what happens :)
Saturday marked two weeks until the Riverbank Run. And it was my most frustrating run in a long time. I've been planning on running the 25k for so long, but my body is just falling apart, and honestly, I'm not sure if I'll be able to finish. I've been dealing with aches and pains for a while, and I haven't even been running as much as I should be... This spring has had so much going on, that I haven't been running like I should, but with the body stuff I've had going on, I haven't physically been able to do it either. Every 10+ mile run, I get to a point that I physicially can't run another step. From the waist up, I'm fine. Mentally, cardio-wise, I can do it. It's just that the rest of my body refuses. I had planned to run around 13 on Saturday, but I got about 3 miles from home, and I had to start walking. I tried to do the whole run for a minute, walk for a bit, run, walk, run, walk thing, but I simply couldn't run. I had to make it home to get ready for Kait's graduation, and since I was taking so long, Eric finally came out to look for me. He found me about a mile and a half from home, and I got into the car and just burst into tears...
So right now I'm trying to figure out what to do. Do I go for the 25k and just see how far I get? Do I run the 10k because I know I can do it, no problem? I'm so disappointed in myself, because I wanted this so badly. I have a few friends that are doing the 25k, and I feel like if they can do it, I'm going to feel dumb if I can't. And if I opt to do the 10k instead, I feel like I'm wussing out. I just feel like a failure, you know? Eric was really encouraging about it this weekend, but I'm still bummed... and not quite sure what to do.
The Access Gala last Thursday was a success, so that's good. Feels nice to finally have something off my plate that I've been working on for a while. We have other events coming up, though, so my focus will just shift onto other projects. We went to Kaitlyn's graduation from GVSU on Saturday. It was so good to finally see her finish her degree. Now she's off to U of M in the fall for grad school! Gosh, I'm going to miss that girl. Seeing pictures of the GVSU girls that I've been interning with at their graduation made me want to go to mine. I've been toying with the idea of not going for a while, just because it feels like no big deal. We have a teeny ceremony with about 40 of us at WMU's downtown campus, so it's not a big production or anything. What to do, what to do?
So that's what's new in our little world! What's going on in yours?
Hi Nicole!
ReplyDeleteI'm praying for you and Eric for your search for a new home and selling your own. I know it is so frustrating but everything is always in God's time. Dylan and I learned that with our house. Everything will fall into place when it is supposed to, it is just sooo hard to be patient! :-) I definitley do not miss that anxiety! I plan in staying in my house FOREVER for that fact!
I also wanted to comment on running! I have never trained for a 25K for the simple fact that a half marathon was enought! However, the distance is not that big of a difference. Maybe take into consideration how busy you are this semester. You have not been able to train as you need to and this may be causing your body the problems you are having. No one said you had to run the entire 25K. Run until you can't run anymore and then walk for awhile or walk the rest. No one is going to think less of you. People walk all the time on those courses. Just make sure you know your boundaries though, so you don't injure yourself! I'm praying for you! Let me know what you decide! :-)